Kiruna and the Norwegian coastal steamer tour

Kiruna and the "Hurtigruten"

To go on a tour on the Norwegian coastal steamer along the coastline is known as the world's most beautiful voyage. But to go into the Raftsund and Trollfjord while on board the "Hurtigruten" is famous for being the most exciting passage of the world's most beautiful voyage!

We don't want you to leave from Kiruna without giving you the unique chance to enjoy a day of Norwegian seafaring tradition in breathtaking scenery.

You will be picked up at your hotel/hostel at 7.30 AM by minivan. Along the European road E10 via Abisko towards Narvik you will see lake Torneträsk, the Lapponian Gate / Lapporten and enter Norway in Riksgränsen.


After a while on Norwegian roads along fjords and mountains you will enter the Vesterålen archipelago. At app. 2.00 PM you will arrive in Stokmarknes where the Hurtigruten company was founded more than 120 years ago. We recommend you a visit to the coastal steamer museum to become familiar with the tradition of the voyage that will start at 3.00 PM.

You will go onboard the southbound coastal steamer and join a spectacular passage between characteristic mountains on the Raftsund and your ship will call Svolvaer at 8.30 PM. Your guide will have had some time to sleep and will welcome you at the pier and drive a loop with you around the administrative center of the Lofoten.

Time to go back now. Slow down and relax - take a pillow and a blanket and just enjoy the landscape. You will arrive back at your hotel in Kiruna at 2.00 AM.


facts  included  options 
Season 2016: June, 1st to September, 25th
Availability: On demand
Pick - up: Your hotel/hostel in Kiruna or Jukkasjärvi at 08.00 PM
Duration: App. 16h
Minimum participants: 2
Maximum participants: 5
Price / person: SEK 8600 with booking for 2 - 3 travellers; SEK 7500 with booking for 4 - 5
Minimum age: 12 years

A teaser found on

From Kiruna via Narvik to Stokmarkness

360 Km

... and from Svolvaer back to Kiruna

378 Km

Photocredits header:;; 3-ToFoto Hadsel;4-Tofoto Hadsel;5-Baard Loeken Tromsoe;6-Frank Andreassen Berg